Days 4 through 7

Food cravings have begun where food dreams have left off. The desire for sweets has remained about the same but cravings for dairy have kicked in. I especially miss cheese and sauces that are sour cream and/or mayonnaise-based (tartar and dill sauce specifically). There is a recipe for tartar sauce in It Starts With Food (ISWF) but it contains eggs. I am allergic to eggs and since I am supposed to avoid all things inflammatory, I can’t even have small amounts of egg for the entire 30 days.

Day 5 was the first time I had to be out of the house during a meal time so I was faced with my first challenge. I had to eat Meal 2 (lunch) at work (remember, I am supposed to be thinking in terms of meal numbers, not breakfast, lunch and dinner).  I packed left-overs from the previous night’s Meal 3 (dinner – Tarragon Cream Chicken with roasted veggies…YUM!) and some chopped macadamia nuts with white raisins in case I needed a little “help” between meals. As it turned out, I did need some help because I ate Meal 1 ( breakfast) at 6:30 AM in order to get out of the house on time. I ate half of my nut/raisin combo before Meal 2. Then, I needed help again before Meal 3 (because I ate Meal 2 at 11:15 AM) so I ate the other half. In the interest of avoiding TMI (too much information), let’s just say I think I overdid it on the macadamias and raisins. My stomach did NOT agree with the excessiveness of this snack choice and rebelled in a big way. I won’t make that mistake again. Lesson learned!

Day 6 brought my first opportunity to eat out in a restaurant. I didn’t find the link to the Whole30 Dining Guide http://whole9life.com/book/ISWF-Dining-Guide.pdf before my excursion so I went into it a bit blind. I was quite stressed over the situation because I didn’t want to have any slip ups. My family and I ended up eating at a steakhouse chain restaurant where I knew I could at least find baked sweet potatoes. I ended up ordering from their “healthy” menu and had a plain baked sweet potato (which was HUGE…I brought half of it home with me) grilled salmon with lemon pepper seasoning (no sauce, butter or oil) and steamed broccoli. I was even able to persevere while my family had some of the yummiest yeast rolls you will ever taste. I would call that first time eating out a success!

Day 7 brings me back to the grocery store and another round of prep for next week. My stomach is still a little “off” from Day 5’s over-indulgence but it doesn’t hurt any more. I hope this gets a little easier by the end of next week. If that “fat burner” switch flips, I know my energy will improve.

Here is a photo of Meal 1 on Day 6. It is 10-Minute Chili. YUM!

20130427-101929.jpg

Posted on April 27, 2013, in Diet, Pictures, The Process and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

scotwegiansoul

A great WordPress.com site

My Fascinating Life

a glimpse into the seedy world of a stay at home mom

Sustainable Health and Fitness

The road to vitality!

jessepeckwrites

about all things human

inonedirection

Pointing to Christ: The Only True Direction

