Week 12

MONDAY:  I’ve entered week 3 of my Fat Burner 4 week workout.  Today I added another combo set to the circuit bringing the total number of weight/cardio combo sets to 7.  Including the 5 minute warm-up on the treadmill and time to set up the bench and weights, it took me approx. 65 minutes to do it this morning.  I think I’m going to have to start getting up just a little earlier, especially as I enter week 4 so I can make sure I have time to get all 3 circuits done.

As I finished this morning, I was reminded of a scene from another of my favorite movies, Overboard.  The scene shows Goldie Hawn at the end of a day of cleaning this unbelievably dirty house and all she can do is sit in a chair, stare into space and say (making the sound of the letter “B”, not saying “B”) “B-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-b.”  That is exactly how I felt.  Wobbly, shaky and only able to make a single, continuous sound, “B-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-b………”

TUESDAY:  Cardio day!  I am doing the same cardio this week as last week.  Intervals of 30 second sprints and 60 second walks.  It went pretty well today.  I did the entire workout at 7.5 sprints and didn’t feel out of control.  However, my right shin started aching again after no pain at all for the last 4 days.  UGH!  I am still determined not to let it stop me.

I also noticed something interesting.  I’ve been writing down my low and peak heart rates at the end of my workout.  Last week, I ran my sprints at 7.0 on Tuesday and my heart rate at the bottom of the final sprint was 182 and at the bottom of the final walk was 164.  On Wednesday, I ran part of them at 7.0, then 7.5, then 8.0.  My heart rate at the bottom of the final sprint was 189 and at the bottom of the final walk was 172.  Today at 7.5, my heart rate at the bottom of the final sprint was 180 and at the bottom of the final walk was 165.  My heart rate is improving!  I’m running .5 mph faster today than a week ago and my heart rate stayed about the same.  That is improvement, people!  I’m excited about that!

WEDNESDAY:  I was in bed by 9 PM last night so I got a decent amount of sleep.  However, I did not want to go to the gym this morning, let alone do 3 complete circuits of my workout.  I know the problem….hormones.  This will be my battle for the next week, at least…UGH!  Once again, this blog and not wanting to admit I was weak and lazy has caused me to persevere and do it all anyway.

One of the nice parts about being in the gym really early in the morning is typically, I get the place to myself.  There are 2 or 3 other folks who are in there every day with me but we are usually doing different things and don’t get in each other’s way.  This new workout requires me to hoard 3 sets of dumbbells and 3 barbells along with an incline bench and now a leg press.  This is usually not a problem when it’s just “us” at the gym.  But this morning, there were no less than NINE people in there with me.  And I’m sorry…but I just don’t think I should have to share!  That’s fair, right?  I’m almost done…just go back home and go to bed.  You can have all the equipment in a week when I’m not here in the mornings anymore…OK?  Thankfully, no one needed anything I was using.  If they had, I would have let them use it.  I’m really not as mean as I appear to be 😉  But…it is a bummer not to have it all to myself.  I’ve gotten spoiled these last 3 months.

But I digress….anyway, I made myself suck it up and I did all 3 circuits.  Not exactly with gusto but I did them.  I had to mop sweat off my face twice during the workout so I know I was making progress in spite of how I felt.  I’m glad I stuck it out and did it though.  I’d rather be tired and achy than disappointed in myself.

THURSDAY:  I have to go back to Wednesday to tell you about this morning’s cardio workout.  I follow a page on Facebook called F5 Lifestyle https://www.facebook.com/F5Lifestyle.  The woman who runs it will often post very helpful tips and advice on health and fitness.  Yesterday, she put up a post showing how to find your Target Heart Rate.  To calculate your Target Heart Rate  take 220 minus your age and that is your Maximum Heart Rate.  Then take your Maximum Heart Rate x 85% and that is your Target Heart Rate.  I did the math for myself and discovered that my MAXIMUM heart rate is 176 and my TARGET heart rate is 150.  While my heart rate is improving as I’m doing these cardio workouts, I am a little concerned that I might be pushing it given that I have palpitations and have had tachycardia symptoms in the past.

Which brings me to today’s workout.  I discussed it with my nephew (and with F5 Lifestyle) and decided to back off my speed on the sprints this morning.  I brought it down to 7.0 from 7.5 and then monitored my heart rate.  On the last interval I topped out at 178 and bottomed out at 161.  I feel more comfortable with that.  When I compare it to last week when I ran at 7.0 I am still seeing improvement.  Those rates were 182 and 164.  So the cardio is doing what it is supposed to do.  I’m topping out at a lower rate and I’m bottoming out at a lower rate.  I am happy about that.
FRIDAY:  I can’t believe I’m at the end of my third week of this new workout.  I can definitely feel it!  It seems with each passing week I am more and more relieved when it’s finally Friday!  My workout today was uneventful.  I got all 3 circuits in.  Now I have to gear myself up for next week because it is going to be even harder than the last 3 weeks were.

I talked to my nephew and he said it would be OK for me to share the workout he created for me so I am posting it below for anyone who might be interested in giving it a try or just curious to see what I’ve been doing for the last 3 weeks.

AMYS4WEEKBLASTER(1)

Posted on August 24, 2012, in Statistics, The Process and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love that your heart is getting used to the cardio!!! I have another worksheet that actually predicts max and min HR’s better than the calculation. I’ll email it to you this weekend.

    I love that new workout you posted as well. You are so fortunate to have a nephew so in tune with getting you in shape! Thanks for sharing it!

    Keep it up girl!! You are doing amazing on your workouts and your motivation. Do NOT give up…I’m still here watching and listening and CHEERING for you!

    • Thanks, Jill! I’m happy and sad all at the same time to be at the end of this challenge. I know that doesn’t mean the work is over but it does mean that I get to go into “maintenance mode” for a while and I’m looking forward to that.

      When do you run your Boston qualifier race?

Leave a Reply

scotwegiansoul

A great WordPress.com site

My Fascinating Life

a glimpse into the seedy world of a stay at home mom

Sustainable Health and Fitness

The road to vitality!

jessepeckwrites

about all things human

inonedirection

Pointing to Christ: The Only True Direction

