Weight Update 10.0

Sunday, August 12, 2012

Weight:  169 lbs.

I’m down one pound this week.  I truly hoped for more than that because I have been making a good effort with my workout and diet.  I can’t deny that I’m a little disappointed.

I’m also beginning to wonder about my body type.  I’ve read articles on body type before but today I found one that was particularly helpful.  It was called Determining Your Body Type – For Dummies (http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/determining-your-body-type.html).  After reading this article, I have come to the conclusion that I fit best into the endomorph category.  As described in the article, I tend to gain fat easily, while muscle is harder for me to put on.  I also carry the vast majority of my fat in my abdomen, hips, thighs and butt and my metabolism is slow.

I did further research and read 3 different articles with suggestions for workouts that are suitable to my body type and got mostly 3 different opinions.  The common threads I saw were weight and cardio training, with emphasis on cadio.  Given that I am in a weight/cardio combo training routine until the end of my summer challenge, I still hold out great hope that I will reach my goal of weight loss and BMI reduction at the end of August.

On a good note, my glute muscle injury has improved greatly so barring any further difficulties, I am confident I will be able to do my cardio on the treadmill on Tuesday 🙂 .

Posted on August 12, 2012, in Statistics, The Process and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I think you are doing GREAT !! A 1lb loss is 3500 calories so way to go!! Usually I don’t lose more than 1/2 lb a week – as we get older our bodies slow down. Boo!! Celebrate and reward yourself with something non food!

  2. Dear Cousin-in-law,

    Young Lady, sounds to me as though you are doin’ durn good. I am sure you have learned that somehow the inches often disappear before the pounds, eh? God bless you, from God’s Country in the U.P. (a bit W of your mom)

  3. Rhonda Sadler-Azbill

    Good job. It does take burning 3500 calories to lose 1 pound, so pat urself on the back. Also, weight loss is a “Life style change” so take one day at a time and measure at least once a month and you will see more weight lose in inches rather than from the scale.

  4. You are doing a great job Amy….keep up the good work! I clicked your link and I am an ectomorph….I’ll give you a minute to get over the shock 😉

    • Thanks, ladies, for the encouragement and for reminding me that progress is not always measured by the number on the scale. At some point along this journey I said I wasn’t going to get hung up on the numbers on the scale and that’s exactly what I’m doing now so shame on me!. I have made good progress and improvement, even if my weight on the scale doesn’t show it. How can I forget those size 12 jeans? 🙂

      • Oh, Amy. Size 12 jeans. I remember mine from about 50 years ago. Yikes. Red and green plaid I was proud to wear in our bowling league. Two Questions: Does your program include a “Metabolic Adjustment” period between Wt. Loss segments? Does it include 100-calorie protein snacks between meals, partly meaning how important protein is for keeping metabolism burning? God Bless.

      • Hmmm….I’ve not heard of a metabolic adjustment period so I would have to say, no, what I’m doing has not included that. As far as diet, I typically eat 3 meals and 2 snacks per day and my snacks do include protein. I don’t have a problem getting enough protein. I’m usually well above the recommended number of grams in that category.

Leave a Reply

scotwegiansoul

A great WordPress.com site

My Fascinating Life

a glimpse into the seedy world of a stay at home mom

Sustainable Health and Fitness

The road to vitality!

jessepeckwrites

about all things human

inonedirection

Pointing to Christ: The Only True Direction

