Week 8

MONDAY:  Rainy days, Mondays and sinus headaches always get me down…..not exactly the lyrics sung by the late Karen Carpenter but they definitely apply to my Monday morning.  I still rolled out of bed at my usual time to get ready to go to the gym.  I still did a complete Upper Body Day 1 workout and didn’t skimp on the weights or the exercises…although I was rather sloth-like today.  But by the time I got home, my headache was gone 🙂  Funny….before this summer challenge I would have let that headache defeat me.  Who knew exercise was the best cure for a sinus headache?  It has happened time and time again, too.  I never would have thought that in a million years.

TUESDAY:  My first coherent thought this morning was “Oh crap…..cardio.”  How did I go from being a cardio fan (I almost said fanatic but if I’m honest I have to say I was never THAT excited about it) to loathing the idea?  It is a mystery to me.  However, I have reached the point where cardio is no longer my idea of a good time.  But I do realize and acknowledge that it is a necessary evil for burning the stores of fat I still have in abundance on my thighs and elsewhere so I will continue to endure it.  Just don’t expect me to like it….much.

This morning I chose the elliptical as my torture machine and I did the full 45 minutes.  I almost stopped at the 25 minute mark and switched to the treadmill but slowed down instead and drank some water.  Aside from that little moment of hesitation, I turned up my ipod, put my nose to the grindstone and pedaled on undaunted.  It is a lot easier when I can shut my mind off and not play the psychological games.

WEDNESDAY:  I got through my lower body workout today but it would have been a whole lot easier if I drank enough water yesterday.  My thigh muscles burned about 2 reps into each set instead of burning near the end of the 12 reps like they should.  That is all thanks to being dehydrated (again), I’m sure.

Why is it so hard to drink enough water?  I bring filtered water with me to work every day in a 24 oz bottle and the vast majority of the time I barely drink half of it.  My friend, MHH over at Sustainable Health and Fitness, shared in her blog this morning http://sustainablehf.wordpress.com/2012/07/24/the-wetter-the-better/) that the old thinking which says a person should drink 6 to 8 8oz glasses of water every day is no longer a good rule of thumb.  Instead, you should take your weight and divide it by 2 and THAT is how many ounces of water you should be drinking.  What a revelation!  The old 48 ounces just turned into 83.5 for me!  I think I’d have to put one of those hats that have the 2 cup holders and a straw on my head and just drink continuously 24/7 in order to consume that much water!  OH!…..and let’s not forget the catheter I’d need to have inserted so I don’t spend every waking moment in the bathroom eliminating all that water.  As my son would say….. FOR REAL??  Yes, Amy…..for real, now stop your whining.  I can complain all I want and that doesn’t change the fact that MHH is right (along with lots of other smart people who have done the research) and I need to just suck up the water and be quiet already.

THURSDAY:  This morning I was supposed to do cardio but I interrupted my regularly scheduled programming.  Today is my last workout day for this week because tomorrow I will be traveling and will not be able to get to the gym before my departure time.  But I anticipate some extra curricular activities this weekend so I’m not worried about one missed day in the gym.

I decided to do my Upper Body Day 2 workout his morning instead of cardio mostly because I just didn’t want to do cardio (how’s that for honesty?).  However, I did my workout with gusto.  I didn’t skimp on the weights AND I was able to get through all 3 sets of bicep curls with the 15 lb weights!  That was the first time I’ve done that since I started my new routine at the beginning of July.  Usually, I can only get through 1.5 sets before I have to drop down to 12’s.  I am excited about that accomplishment!  It means I’m progressing and getting STRONGER!  🙂  I also challenged myself when I did abs by switching out one of the exercises.  I usually do leg raises where I lie on my back with both my legs in the air and I alternate lowering one of them at a time without touching the floor for 3 sets of 12 reps.  Today, I went “old school” and I did leg lifts like we used to have to do in junior high gym class.  I put my hands under my butt for support and raised my legs about 6 or 8 inches off the floor, opened them (like scissors), closed them and then touched the floor quickly before I went into the next raise.  That brought back some torturous memories!

I end this week with anticipation of things to come.   On August 6th I will begin Week 1 of the new workout my nephew has given me for the final 4 weeks of my challenge.  I am totally stoked and can’t wait to start it.  I was initially going to start it on Aug 1st but have decided to delay until the 6th so I’m not changing in the middle of a week.  That means I will continue my current workout for one more week.  The new one promises to be the hardest physical challenge I have ever taken on….voluntarily…..haha!  When I’m a sweaty, exhausted mess on the gym floor, would you remind me of how excited I was at the beginning?

Posted on July 26, 2012, in The Process and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Amy, good luck with your healthy life-changing adventure. I have worked out/played sports all my life and I don’t think of the gym and all of its tortures in the the way you do. I guess for me it is such a part of my day, like brushing my teeth. I do not anticipate what I am about to endure. Of course, some days really are not that productive when I “just do not feel like going there” but I figure, if I am present, and I have my body at the gym all ready to go, at least it is maintenance not necessarily productivity.

    With that said, I have gotten into a rut the past two years with school. I still went to the gym, I was present and working and even sweating but I wasn’t pushing myself. I was always in a rush to get back home to study or write a paper. I put on 10 pounds and instead of working harder I tried to starve myself of food groups…i.e., protein diets. They worked for a bit but not realistic. I also began having some female issues with high estrogen counts so it became even more difficult to drop pounds. I decided, while my doctor was trying to fix my female problems that I would combat the things I couldn’t yet control with a fierce workout. I chose INSANITY. I have been doing it for two weeks. It is every bit of what it stands for and it is not for the average person trying to get back into shape. It is very intense. I have never sweated as I have with this program and I really think after the 60 days that I will incorporate it into my gym routine. The cardio workouts are just you and your body, no extra apparatuses. Adding some weights at the gym will be good and I will alter the INSANITY somewhat. I already feel stronger and more sculpted. The food program with it is not per say a diet plan rather a guideline on how make 5 small meals a day- clean eating that works with the right amount of calories that are right for a specific body weight. I enjoy eating all of the food groups again! I feel much healthier and satisfied having a bit of fruit or even a ww tortilla!
    Anyway, I just wanted to pop in and tell you my story. We should all stick together! I drink La Croix sparkling water often. Maybe add a sparkling water to your day so that you are encouraged to drink more. I think that iced tea and other non-sugared drinks count as part of your water intake too. Also, that MIO product that you squeeze into your water isn’t that bad and you may want to try that.
    Good luck and keep up the good work!!!!!

    • Karen, thank you so much for your thoughts and encouragement. I have always thought that you look fabulous. You have taken such good care of yourself all your life. As far as I know, you’ve never had a weight problem.

      I’m not trying to say that I hate working out or that it’s torture every day. I really thought it would get easier as far as desire goes the further I got into this and I’m surprised how I suddenly feel about cardio. For the past year I have loved cardio. But I vowed to be real and honest in my blog about this experience so I let it all hang out…..haha! I agree that being present and at least doing something at the maintenance level is far better than not going at all.

      About high estrogen….did you eat a lot of soy during your high protein diet? Soy is a phytoestrogen and will act like estrogen in your body. It will cause you to retain fat, especially in your abdomen. However, I’m not sure if it will skew an actual blood hormone test but it might be worth asking about.

      I am all about clean eating and embracing ALL of the food groups. I try to get the bulk of my carbs in during breakfast and lunch if I can. I stay away from refined grains as often as possible. Karen, I’ve never felt better than when I changed how I eat 2 years ago. It has been amazing.

      Thanks for sharing your story and for reading! You’re right, we all do need to stick together. Good luck finishing your INSANITY workout experience. I’d love to hear about the results you achieved when you’re done.

  2. You are doing a great job! I am proud of you for drinking more water and thanks for the ping back 🙂 I really enjoy your blog….lots!

Leave a Reply

scotwegiansoul

A great WordPress.com site

My Fascinating Life

a glimpse into the seedy world of a stay at home mom

Sustainable Health and Fitness

The road to vitality!

jessepeckwrites

about all things human

inonedirection

Pointing to Christ: The Only True Direction

