Week 7

I didn’t do very well logging my meals last week….especially over the weekend.  Sunday was a bit of a diet disaster.  I did well in the morning but for lunch I ate Chinese with a bunch of people from my church.  I love Chinese but I feel so bad the next day it’s usually not worth it to eat it, even when I try to order something with veggies and no breading like on Sunday.  I was also careful not to eat until I was stuffed.  Then dinner was a combination of whatever I could find in the fridge….cucumbers, veggie dip, a small piece of shortcake with butter and crab rangoons.  Not a lot of protein there and too many carbs!  UGH!!  Then I crashed out on the sofa at around 7:30 PM and was out for the night…for the most part.  We won’t even talk about the lack of water for the day.

Oh let’s just move on, shall we?  One thing I know for certain is without this blog, I would have caved by now.  It is knowing that someone might read this and not wanting to write a post that says “I decided to wimp out and not go to the gym today” that has kept me going every day.  So thanks for being part of my daily motivation.  It means a lot that you’re interested.

MONDAY:  Upper Body Day 1 for the week which is chest, shoulders and tris.  My workout went so well that I had extra time at the end.  Just for my friend, MHH, I got on the treadmill and did 10 minutes of cardio intervals instead of heading out the door.  I’m still tight in my right hamstring so I didn’t push it too hard.  I’ll throw in more cardio at the end of weight days from now on if I have time at the end like today.  I’m still of the mind that strength training is more important than cardio…at least for me…at the moment so I’m not willing to cut out sets in order to make time for cardio every day.  But….I won’t slack and blow it off when there is time to get it done.

TUESDAY:  Today is an all cardio day.  I did the full amount but I decided to take it a little slower today.  My right hamstring is better but still wanting to give me grief so I decided it was best not to push it.  I went 45 minutes on the treadmill at 3.5 mph.  I was able to do that with hardly any tightness in my hamstring until after the workout.  Tomorrow is lower body so we’ll see how the hamstring feels on Thursday when I have to do cardio again.  It may just be a light cardio week this week.

WEDNESDAY:  Another morning thunderstorm at the gym 🙂  Not like the last one…less thunder and lightening.  Today was lower body and it all went fine.  I didn’t have extra time at the end to get more cardio in today.  My right hamstring is still tight but feels a little better.  I’ve been in a perpetual state of soreness since I started this new routine.  It’s good because it means I’m working my muscles but sometimes it just makes me tired.  Today is a tired day.

THURSDAY:  What I’m learning this week is that it’s as much psychological as it is physical…maybe more.  Not long ago, cardio was my favorite part of working out.  I had no problem jumping on the treadmill after 45 minutes of weights and doing 15 minutes or so of cardio.  It’s not that I don’t like it anymore but I sure don’t love it like I used to.  Since I’ve increased my time to 45 minutes, it’s been a real psychological battle to get through it all.  I find myself watching my time a lot.  After the first 4 minutes I’m thinking, “Great!  I’m 1/10th of the way through this!”  At 10 minutes I’m trying to talk myself into switching to a different machine (today it was elliptical to treadmill) at  the 25 minute mark.  At 20 minutes I’m coaching myself through the next 5.  At 25 minutes I’m telling myself to suck it up and stay where I am.  At 30 minutes I’m berating myself for not switching.  At 35 minutes I’m telling myself that it’s only 10 more minutes.  When I get to the end, I’m not sure if I’m more exhausted because of the physical stress or the mental stress!

FRIDAY:  Wow….where did the week go?  I am amazed to wake and discover it’s Friday already.  Today’s workout was “routine,” I guess.  Everything went well and I had 10 extra minutes at the end so I did some walking at 3.5 on the treadmill.  I met a nice woman who just started coming with her son in the mornings on her way to work.  Her son is 11 and he’s a little chubby.  I wouldn’t call him obese, exactly, but he does have a weight problem.  She said it was his idea to start coming to the gym.  She thinks he’s getting teased.

We humans can be so cruel to each other.  I was not very nice to some people when I was his age and I had it returned to me in spades in junior high.  What a waste of time and energy.  I am glad to see this boy reached out to his mom and asked if they could do something constructive about his situation.  Too often, kids who are teased or bullied keep their pain hidden inside until it manifests itself in violence against others or themselves (or both).  Maybe this little boy’s experience of finding something positive in the gym will allow him to positively motivate someone else down the road who is getting teased about his weight.

Posted on July 20, 2012, in The Process and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This is awesome Amy! I love what you said at the end…amen!

Leave a Reply

scotwegiansoul

A great WordPress.com site

My Fascinating Life

a glimpse into the seedy world of a stay at home mom

Sustainable Health and Fitness

The road to vitality!

jessepeckwrites

about all things human

inonedirection

Pointing to Christ: The Only True Direction

