Weight Update 6.0

Sunday, July 15, 2012

Weight: 167 lbs.

Back down 3 lbs. I’ll take it.

I have high hopes that this will be a good week. Hormones and mood are back in check. Hopefully my energy levels will stay the same or increase and I’ll see some good progress. I’m trying not to panic over being on the “downhill” side of this adventure and having a vacation coming up soon. I will only miss 2 days in the gym but I know it will be harder to eat right and not eat late in the day. I’ll have to be diligent with the workouts I do to replace what I will miss in the gym.

I had some back and forth discussion this week with my friend, MHH, about adding more cardio to my fitness plans. I’m rather resistant to the idea, mostly because of time constraints in the morning and lack of energy in the evening, not because I dislike cardio. I just read a very interesting article on weight loss vs fat loss and resistance training vs aerobic exercise. If you’re interested you can read it here:

http://blog.metaboliceffect.com/2012/03/10/weight-loss-or-fat-loss-which-would-you-rather-have/

There are benefits to doing BOTH but HOW you do them is key to your success in losing fat and not just losing weight. Furthermore, you need to be careful not to lose muscle. For myself, personally, I want to lose fat and gain muscle. I already have plans for kicking up my pace and doing interval-type resistance and cardio exercises in the 3rd month of my journey this summer. Reading this article has reinforced my plans.

I hope you have a good week of learning and progression.

 

Posted on July 15, 2012, in Diet, Statistics, The Process and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Congrats on the loss Amy! You are doing a great job. I read the article you linked. I agree with a lot of it. I don’t honestly know if I do or don’t agree with the high protein/low carb thing because it’s too vague for me. I generally believe in balance. I don’t believe in restricting carbs or proteins or even healthy fats for that matter—all are necessary and important. I am guessing that the authors intent was with the “typical” diet in mind, which tends to be too high in both carbs and unhealthy fats. As for me, I have tried a high protein diet and it is horrible for me….but I was going from a healthy balance to that.

    • I totally agree with you. I tend to fall along the lines of balance but do lean toward less carbs and more protein, especially later in the day. I try to get all my carbs in before dinner and eat only protein and a veggie for the last meal of the day. Restricting carbs to the point of near non-existance scares me. Balance is definitely the key.

      I do, however, agree with the author’s exercise approach. That was my main reason for sharing the article, although diet and exercise do go hand-in-hand.

  2. Congrats AMY!!! You’ve been working hard and this 3lbs pays off. Make a pact with yourself while on vacation to have one “off plan” meal a day. That way you don’t get too far off line and you don’t deprive yourself. You can maintain this loss if you keep on tracking and just be mindful.

    Sometimes I lose more weight on vacation than at home – because I’m not thinking about eating or stressed out 24/7.

    To further support your eating plan and discussion between MHH – here is this highly recommended blog and how he achieved goals. I want to read every bit he published because he’s not a joker – a MD that knows what he’s doing!!

    http://eatingacademy.com/my-personal-nutrition-journey

    Go reward yourself with something non food.

    • Thanks, Jill! It’s a net loss of 1 lb from when I started. I just keep riding up and down the same 5 lbs as always. I am hoping these next few weeks will yield a weight loss that I don’t keep regaining. I’d like to finish this thing lighter than when I started!

      Thanks for the vacation advice and the link to the blog. I will definitely check it out.

  3. Hi AMY !!!!! Okay now that i have joined your blog what are important meals to eat for muscle building. I know you all gave it too me yesterday because i didn’t eat much if anything however I wasn’t hungry. I do know my eating is not the best I have all that whey protein and stuff but I forget to take any. Working on the pushups hehehe.

    • Hey, Andrew! Thanks for joining my blog. I hope you find some helpful and maybe even inspirational things here.

      I posted an example of what a typical (and good) week of eating looks like in my world under the “Diet” category of my blog. If you can’t find it, let me know and I’ll send you a link. I gained tools along the way from reading 2 books. The first one was Master Your Metabolism by Jillian Michaels. That book completely changed what and how I eat. The second one was The Skinny Rules by Bob Harper (both are/were Biggest Loser trainers).

      I don’t have specific “meals” that I follow….more like rules or guidelines for how to eat such as making sure I eat protein at every meal/snack; stay away from as much processed foods as possible and eat “whole” foods (lean meats, fruits, veggies, whole grains, dairy). Get rid of everything that is white (bread, rice, pasta) and switch to whole grains. Eat your carbs before 2 PM with the bulk of them being eaten in the morning. Your evening meal should be a protein and veggies. Try to eat your last meal at least 2 hours before you go to bed and be slightly hungry (empty stomach) when you do go to bed. Eat enough grams of protein in a day to be equal to half your body weight. Like I said yesterday, if you weigh 150 lbs, you should be eating 75 grams of protein per day.

      That whey protein drink we talked about should be used either just before or just after a workout. I drink mine after I work out. I bought the powder at Costco and I get 27 grams of protein out of a scoop. Another great source of protein is eggs but I can’t eat those due to an allergy. But if you can eat them, they are a perfect protein. Since I can’t eat eggs, I use Greek yogurt as an option for breakfast and snacks to get added protein in my diet.

      Drink lots of WATER. I struggle the most with getting enough water. Try to eliminate pop from your diet completely and stay away from all “diet” and sugar-sweetened drinks. When you are thirsty, your body wants/needs water. Give it water.

      Get lots of fiber. This is another reason to drink lots of water…haha!

      Make sure you are consuming enough calories, too. When you are building muscle, if you don’t eat enough calories you will not only struggle to build muscle, you will burn it, too, instead of fat. You might want to try going to MyFitnessPal.com and fill out the profile info for the goals you want to reach. The program will give you some calorie guidelines to follow. I think their protein and fiber guidelines are too low, however, so keep that in mind.

      I hope this helps to get you started and isn’t too overwhelming. Changing the way you eat can be very difficult. In my personal experience, I had to hit bottom and want health more than anything else (including chocolate cake!) in order to change.

Leave a Reply

scotwegiansoul

A great WordPress.com site

My Fascinating Life

a glimpse into the seedy world of a stay at home mom

Sustainable Health and Fitness

The road to vitality!

jessepeckwrites

about all things human

inonedirection

Pointing to Christ: The Only True Direction

